The Whitworthian sweeps the SPJ awards in the region

28 04 2009

Below is the list of awards The Whitworthian and our staff have received from the Society of Professional Journalists 2008 Mark of Excellence Awards in Region 10. First place winners get to participate in nationals. SPJ awards are equivalent to college versions of Pulitzer Prizes.

SPJ Mark of Excellence Region 10 Winners

Best Affiliated Web site
• First Place: Staff, The Whitworthian (online), Whitworth University

Best All-Around Non-Daily Student Newspaper (published less than 4 times per week)
• Second Place: Staff, The Whitworthian, Whitworth University

Feature Photography
•First Place: Thomas Robinson, Whitworth University, “Dreamscape”

Sports Column Writing
• First Place: Dave Gerig, Whitworth University

General Column Writing
• First Place: Tim Takechi, Whitworth University

Editorial Cartooning
• First Place: Aileen Benson, Whitworth University
• Third Place: Annette Farrell, Hannah Kinnier & Aileen Benson, Whitworth University

Feature Writing
• First Place: Joy Bacon, Whitworth University, “What’s the big deal about sex”

Here is the link to SPJ’s Web site of the full list of  awards.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: