My summer adventure in the Golden State

27 05 2009

I hate sitting in confined spaces for long periods of time. In fact, my body dislikes it so much, I usually end up knocked out whenever I travel. On a plane, sitting shotgun – anything. If not sleep, it’s distracting myself to kill the time so having to have my butt glued to my car seat for an accumulated 17 plus hours will be interesting.

As promised I am sharing my tentative travel plans and internship details. I’m planning to get on the road early Friday, May 29 at 7 a.m. (lots of caffeine). Since driving from Seattle straight to L.A. would be suicide, one of my friend’s relative will be letting my stay at his home for a couple days in San Francisco:

An estimated 11 hours, according to Google Maps.

I’ve never been to California more or less San Francisco, so I’m excited with the prospects of exploring the city, with my cameras in tow (who knows, if I meet someone/something interesting enough maybe I’ll do a profile).

I’ll then head out early June 1, and drive to L.A.:

Google Maps said it is a five hour drive but someone from the L.A. Daily News Human Resources Department told me it is around a nine hour drive (fantastic).

I will be staying with another friend’s relative for the remainder of my internship in the Los Feliz area (A), which is located on the outskirts of East Hollywood. The L.A. Daily News (B) is located in Northwest L.A., in the San Fernando area.

Here is what I know so far about my internship:

  • I will be working for the L.A. Daily news for around eight to nine weeks as a part-time intern. I will be working with another student intern.
  • I will work  on a variety of assignments, mainly working with their online department and the metro desk as a multimedia reporter.
  • As a multimedia reporter, I will create one piece of multimedia with each story I am assigned
  • Once I finish a story, I will experiment with a variety social media tools to drive traffic to the story.
  • As my internship progresses, I will have a collection of stories used through social media networks.
  • I will keep track to see what kind of content viewers liked to see and also what social media tool was most effective.
  • At the end of the internship, I will help write a recommendation for the newspaper.

I can’t believe I’m leaving this friday already. I will definitely blog and keep you updated with my life in Los Angeles.

Actions

Information

One response

1 06 2009
Bosule

Where are your updates?! I want to see a lot of photo-posts. Photos make me happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

