I almost got punched in the face by a homeless man

17 11 2009

"People don't realize how close they are to becoming homeless," Sid Underwood (right), 19, said. Both Underwood and Leonard Costa (left), 19, have both been homeless for six years. Underwood said she has become accustomed to street life.

…but I was saved by a former street kid who was with me (note to self: don’t ask personal questions to an intoxicated homeless man that is about twice your size).

Last week I spent an accumulated 14 hours on the streets of downtown Spokane to talk to homeless teens. After spending a week researching on the subject, I thought it was about time that I got face to face time with the actual subjects at hand.

Needless to say, appearances can be deceiving. One lesson I learned from this whole experience is that you really can’t judge homeless teens based on appearances.

They might look intimidating or rough around the edges, but during my time talking to youth living on the streets, they were for the most part open to talk about their experiences.

The past week and a half have been an eye-opening experience for me. After seeing homeless teens see their world, a lot of things in my life seem trivial.

I’ll never take for granted the luxury of sleeping in a warm, soft bed every night.

Click here to read my article.

Actions

Information

One response

27 11 2009
Where can i find resources to start a teen shelter or related organazation? | Feels Like Me

[…] I almost got punched in the face by a homeless man « Digital … […]

Leave a Reply

