Aussie Aussie Aussie, oi oi oi

28 02 2010

What do you get when you mix sequin, glitter, costumes, Lady Gaga and the thumpa-thumpa? Sydney’s 2010 Gay & Lesbian Mardi Gras (see photo gallery).

For an insane 17 hours (yeah, you read that right), I was in Sydney’s Oxford Street where the parade took place. I’ve never attended a Mardi Gras or Gay Pride event but I can definitely understand why Sydney’s is one of the largest and best in the world.

But I’m getting ahead of myself–let’s rewind a week.

Not even an hour after I stepped out of the Sydney International Airport did I, along with other Americans, experience our first anti-US experience. It was purely miscommunication that happened between us and the shuttle driver and it ended up in a “you Americans never listen” lecture. I took it as a kind of battle wound or medal of honor for “fastest time in pissing off an Aussie.”

After the driver grumbly dropped us off our units (that’s apartments for you Americans), I settled in and met my new flat mates: Stephen from Ohio, Vincent from France and Jenny from Sweden. We’re good for each other.



Fortunately, I didn’t experience much jet lag and the past seven days have felt both like a blur and standstill. I’m still getting accustomed to the small idiosyncrasies of Australia. To list a few:

1. Looking RIGHT then LEFT when crossing traffic. This small mishap can prove to be quite fatal.

2. A pharmacist is called a chemist. Apparently, my friend made the mistake of asking to find a drug store which was than repaid with a peculiar glance.

3. Australians love to abbreviate and use slang: uni, aussie, mackaz, ripper, mate, barbie, good on ya, middy, and on and on.

4. Getting used to the “exotic” animals here. I regularly see cockatoos walking to campus form my flat–a nice change from the unsightly crows back home.

I’m sure there are more, but I can’t seem to think of them at the moment.

It’s “O Week” here at Macquarie so there’s lots people, music, entertainment, club stalls and general fun. Classes have just started for everyone and I was the lucky group of people who ended up with an incorrect class schedule. But it’s all for the better.

Here is what I will most likely take from now on: Radio Production, Cybercultures, Advanced Interactivity and Media Internship.

Radio Production looks very promising based on the first day of class, and they have large resources and tools for legitimate radio broadcasting.

Cybercultures might be a little bit of review but I’m pretty sure they will cover aspects about digital media and societies that are new to me.

Advanced Interactivity–now that is something else. Do I know Flash? Nope. Do I know ActionScript 3? Nope. Do I have any legitimate programming background? Nada. Am I taking an advanced unit that do all these things? Yep. In all honesty, it was a little intimidating after attending the first lecture but not enough for me to drop the class. I’m hoping this class will be an anomaly from the various Flash workshop duds I’ve attended.

As for the media internship, I applied for an internship at Yahoo!7–a media partnership between Seven Media Group and Yahoo! in Australia. Keep your fingers crossed.

If you want some visual experience of my time in Oz, check out my Flickr account. I will continually be posting photos I take while in Australia.

Cheers.

Actions

Information

One response

28 02 2010
How Fast Can A Moluccan Bite A Garden Hose | Gardening Top Informations

[…] Aussie Aussie Aussie, oi oi oi « Digital Journalist […]

Leave a Reply

